the medical drama Grey’s Anatomy –the longest-running series of its kind in the history of television– is currently preparing for its 19th season, which was renewed last January by ABC.

And between the announcements of new signings, and the reduction of the participation of Ellen Pompeowho will be appearing in only 8 of 22 episodes (details here), confirms which other characters will be back full-time, and which won’t.

The end of season 18 left some cliffhangers for viewers, including the open ending for some of the characters that won the affection of the audience, such as the case of Scott Speedmanwho joined the previous season as Nick, Meredith Grey’s love interest, who will change his role from regular to recurring guest star.

It is important to note that Speedman signed a contract for one season in a regular role (T18). At the conclusion of last season, his character had a major disagreement with Meredith, which led to her telling him to move back to Minnesota. Meredith eventually ran after him, however Nick was no longer at Gray Sloan Memorial. With his return in a recurring role, Nick and Meredith’s story is expected to have a proper closure.

Except for Pompeo, and Speedman, the rest of the cast of Grey’s, will be back full time: Chandra Wilson, James Pickens Jr.Kevin McKidd, Kim Raver, Camilla Luddington, Caterina Scorsone, Kelly McCreary, Chris Carmack, Jake Borelli y Anthony Hill.

  • McCreary’s contract was due to expire this year, and has since been renewed.

Other storylines that cliffhangered in the season 18 finale include Richard Webber (Pickens Jr.) leaving the GSM due to the resident training program being shut down; Miranda Bailey (Wilson) resigning and ceding her place as Interim Chief of Surgery to Meredith; and Owen (McKidd) and Teddy (Raver) going on the run with their children.

ABC has set the premiere date for season 19 for Thursday, October 6 in the United States..

New signings for Season 19 include Adelaide Kane (Teen Wolf, Once Upon a Time, The Purge), Midori Francis (The Sex Lives of College Girls, The Afterlife of the Party); Alexis Floyd (Inventing Anna, The Bold Type); y Niko Terho (The Thing About Harry) y Harry Shum Jr. They will all play the new group of residents of Gray Sloan Memorial.

Pompeo is one of the executive producers of season 19. Krista Vernoffcontinues as showrunner of Grey’s, role he assumed from season 14 to the exit of Shonda Rhimes of the series.

With 18 seasons behind him, Grey’s remains one of the series with the best rating on television, and in the demographic 18-49 it is placed as number 1 within ABC.

  • The first 17 seasons of Grey’s are available on Amazon Prime Video, Netflix and Disney’s Star+ in Mexico and the rest of Latin America, and the full 18 seasons are available on Netflix Hulu in the United States.

Pompeo, Rhimes, Betsy Beers, Vernoff, Debbie Allen, Meg Marinis and Mark Gordon are the executive producers of Grey’s Anatomy.


Leave a Reply